Setting up my Learning Log

Welcome to my first post in what will become my learning log whist I work my way towards a BA(Hons) Degree in Textiles with the OCA.

I am so excited about starting this journey, it has been one I have been waiting to take since I decided not to go to university when I was 18.

I have never regretted not going at that time as I have achieved so many other things in my life including running my own business, but the main achievement will always be my now 15 year old daughter who is so wonderful I would never be without her. I am now 37 and at last have the chance to follow my dream of academic fulfillment so here goes.

I plan to add everything that I am working on, looking at, visiting etc. to this blog to keep a good record of where I am at, where I am heading and where I have been within the course. I will have to update it very regularly as there is a lot of work to get through and it will have to contain a lot of varied content.

I am spending this week getting everything together so I can make a start on the first project at the weekend – wish me luck!

Julie

About Julie Hooker

Having recently returned to my roots in Surrey, I am currently studying a BA Hons degree with the OCA. My work is often inspired by the local countryside in the beautiful Surrey Hills area and the wild rugged nature of the North Cornish coast. Steam engines and abandoned industrial history are also recent themes. A free machine embroiderer and felt maker; I like to explore the use of natural, found materials to create my art, whether that be as raw materials to stitch or weave with or as a material with which to produce dye or print with. Previously, I completed City and Guilds parts 1 & 2 Creative Embroidery at the East Berkshire College in Windsor in 2007. I was also awarded first place in the wearable art section of the National Quilt Championships 2008 and 2009 held annually at Sandown Park.
This entry was posted in ACA. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Setting up my Learning Log

  1. Sue L says:

    Wishing you every good luck, but you don’t need it, you’ll be brilliant.
    Love Dad and Sue

Leave a Reply

