Project 1- Stage 2- exercise 3

Exercise 3 involved trying Exercise 1 again using a much broader range of materials.

I started with coloured pencils, these are quite hard in nature and sharp precise marks are easy to make. Soft blended marks are also possible by varying pressure and smudging slightly. The ability to use colour naturally made the marks more expressive compared with ‘grey’ drawing pencils.

Image

Next I moved on to oil pastels – the soft nature of this medium made it quite difficult to produce ‘sharp’ marks, however the vivid colours again helped to make the marks more expressive. I used different methods to create the marks including pressing hard against te paper to create stronger sharper marks, smudging the pastels to create very soft marks, and gentle movements to create sensuous and calm marks.

Image

Following this, I decided to use some Acrylic paint. This time, as well as brushes, I applied the medium with a stick, sponges, a scouring pad, my fingers and a small roll of sellotape!

This produced some really expressive marks and textures and was by far the easiest for me to create the marks I wanted. I found that it was quite simple to create the marks to express the words using these different methods combined with colour to hint at mood.

Image

Finally I played around with a childhood favorite – wax crayons. I had forgotten how many effects can be achieved with these: both soft and sharp, hard and delicate. The colours are quite subtle compared with the oil pastels but they do create similar marks. I will definitely try using these again in the future.

Image

Lastly I tried using coloured inks, not something I had used before but I had used black ink for drawing in the past with a dipping pen,  which was a technique I seem to remember I enjoyed a lot.

photo (7)
photo (5)photo (4) photo (6)

I loved the effects I created with the inks, from soft flowing marks to sharp angular lines they really were very versatile and very ‘stitchy’ at times.

Overall I enjoyed this exercise as it really helped me to think about the marks I make using a wide range of mediums and techniques. Some were more successful than others, but I feel I achieved a nice collection of ideas to carry forward.

About Julie Hooker

Having recently returned to my roots in Surrey, I am currently studying a BA Hons degree with the OCA. My work is often inspired by the local countryside in the beautiful Surrey Hills area and the wild rugged nature of the North Cornish coast. Steam engines and abandoned industrial history are also recent themes. A free machine embroiderer and felt maker; I like to explore the use of natural, found materials to create my art, whether that be as raw materials to stitch or weave with or as a material with which to produce dye or print with. Previously, I completed City and Guilds parts 1 & 2 Creative Embroidery at the East Berkshire College in Windsor in 2007. I was also awarded first place in the wearable art section of the National Quilt Championships 2008 and 2009 held annually at Sandown Park.
This entry was posted in ACA and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

