Project 1 – Stage 3 – Exercise 1

This exercise called for me to choose some images of my own to interpret in marks, to start with I found myself copying the image. After giving myself a good talking to I managed to free up a bit and concentrate more on the textures!

The first picture I chose was a photograph of trees in the snow. This was probably a bit detailed for me to start with, and as you can see I was concentrating on the image to start with more than the texture! I got there in the end though by switching from pencil to pen and ink. I also tried a wax crayon resist.

Image

Next I chose an image I love, I took the photograph a long time ago on a trip to North Cornwall. It is of some north Cornwall cliffs and I love the textures and colours of the rocks. I have always had trouble drawing the rocks so thought I would give it another go. This time I just chose pencil and ink. This result with the dipping pen and ink is definitely more successful, the squiggles, dots and lines show the texture far more successfully than the pencil producing a more powerful image.

Image

The third picture I chose was one of a very interesting fish, although not textured as such, the lines on his skin led me to some interesting marks. This time I used pencil, ink and crayons which I scratched back to show layers of colour.

Image

All in all I am quite happy with the results and will use the techniques in the future, I just need a bit more practice at loosening my mind.

About Julie Hooker

Having recently returned to my roots in Surrey, I am currently studying a BA Hons degree with the OCA. My work is often inspired by the local countryside in the beautiful Surrey Hills area and the wild rugged nature of the North Cornish coast. Steam engines and abandoned industrial history are also recent themes. A free machine embroiderer and felt maker; I like to explore the use of natural, found materials to create my art, whether that be as raw materials to stitch or weave with or as a material with which to produce dye or print with. Previously, I completed City and Guilds parts 1 & 2 Creative Embroidery at the East Berkshire College in Windsor in 2007. I was also awarded first place in the wearable art section of the National Quilt Championships 2008 and 2009 held annually at Sandown Park.
This entry was posted in ACA and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

