More sketchbook stuff

I have spent more time this week adding to my sketchbook.

Image

To be continued, this sketch is of the gears on the side of a Steam Ploughing engine. Still a lot of work to go but I feel it is a good start, I love old machinery particularly the steam driven variety!

Image

This is a study of a sculpture currently on show at the Pride of the Valley sculpture park in Churt, Farnham, Surrey. I really liked the exaggerated pregnant form. I was a bit worried about attempting to draw it as I feel that realistic sketching is something I find the hardest to do but I was surprised an delighted with the result. It worked out a lot better than I thought!

Image

The idea for this starter sketch came to me the other morning when I was feeling particularly overwhelmed with all the roles I have to juggle as a mother. I want to develop this idea further in the future maybe as a piece or maybe part of a body of work.

This week I also revisited Project 1 – Stage 3 exercise 1 as I was not completely happy with what I had achieved. I added a few more experimental marks to each page and am now a lot more satisfied with it.

About Julie Hooker

Having recently returned to my roots in Surrey, I am currently studying a BA Hons degree with the OCA. My work is often inspired by the local countryside in the beautiful Surrey Hills area and the wild rugged nature of the North Cornish coast. Steam engines and abandoned industrial history are also recent themes. A free machine embroiderer and felt maker; I like to explore the use of natural, found materials to create my art, whether that be as raw materials to stitch or weave with or as a material with which to produce dye or print with. Previously, I completed City and Guilds parts 1 & 2 Creative Embroidery at the East Berkshire College in Windsor in 2007. I was also awarded first place in the wearable art section of the National Quilt Championships 2008 and 2009 held annually at Sandown Park.
This entry was posted in ACA and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

