Review of Project 2

Can you begin to see the relationship between stitching and drawing?

Yes, I can really see the relationship between stitching and drawing. Stitching is making marks on fabric just as drawing is on paper. I find you can be more expressive when ‘drawing’ with a needle and thread as it is can be more three dimensional. Light and shadow can be controlled through stitch placement and the type of thread.

Were you able to choose stitches which expressed the marks and lines of your drawings?

I feel I did choose stitches which expressed the marks and lines of my drawings and they worked well. In the first samples I concentrated on copying marks that I had produced in project one and I feel they were very effective.

Did you choose the right source material to work from?

I think I did choose the right source materials to work from. I just wish I had more of it. As yet I haven’t settled into working in my sketchbook as much as I would like.

Do you think your sample works well irrespective of the drawing? Or is your sample merely a good interpretation of your drawing?

I think my final sample based on rocks that uses threads to create textures stands up well on it’s own as well as being a good interpretation of the drawing. I feel it is ripe for further development.

Which did you prefer – working with stitch to create textures or working with yarns to make textures? Which worked best for you and why?

I prefer to use a mix of stitch effects and yarns to create texture. For example, using Cable stitch on my machined sample of rocks to include a heavier thread added a new dimension and more interest than purely using normal machine embroidery threads alone.

Make some comments on individual techniques and sample pieces. Did you experiment enough? Did you feel inhibited in anyway?

I experimented a lot with the techniques suggested and enjoyed all of them so much I could have gone on forever, I didn’t feel inhibited at all especially once I moved onto machine embroidery. I find machine stitching favorable as I find I am more expressive with the machine. However I love to add hand stitching as an accent or to add further texture and interest. Overall, My favorite sample was the rocks sample using threads and yarns to create texture.

Do you prefer to work from a drawing or by playing with materials and yarns to create effects? Which method produced the most interesting work?

I like to work from some sort of drawing, although I prefer to use it as a starting point rather than a plan and abstract it from there.

Are there other techniques you would like to try? Are there any samples you would like to do in a different way?

I am not sure that I would work the samples any differently as I am pleased with them. I would however, like to try mixing hand and machine techniques more often.

Is there anything you would like to change in your work?

The main thing I would like to change is the way I work rather than the work itself at this stage. I am finding my time management needs a lot more work and I particularly need to find more time for my sketchbook which is rather thin at this point!

 

About Julie Hooker

Having recently returned to my roots in Surrey, I am currently studying a BA Hons degree with the OCA. My work is often inspired by the local countryside in the beautiful Surrey Hills area and the wild rugged nature of the North Cornish coast. Steam engines and abandoned industrial history are also recent themes. A free machine embroiderer and felt maker; I like to explore the use of natural, found materials to create my art, whether that be as raw materials to stitch or weave with or as a material with which to produce dye or print with. Previously, I completed City and Guilds parts 1 & 2 Creative Embroidery at the East Berkshire College in Windsor in 2007. I was also awarded first place in the wearable art section of the National Quilt Championships 2008 and 2009 held annually at Sandown Park.
This entry was posted in ACA. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

