Project 3 – Colour – Stage 2 – Exercises 1 & 2

I love using colour in my work, generally the brighter the better. I am not usually a fan of anything sludgy or dull. Pastel and earthy are okay but not sludgy. I tend to like my colours intense and clean, if that makes any sense at all! So this section of the course will be interesting to say the least.

The first few exercises were about colour perception; how colours behave when placed next to each other and combined to create effects.

Image

The squares of paper took a while to cut out and arrange but it was a worthwhile exercise. It was difficult to find the right combination of coloured papers to achieve the effects I was looking for. Staring very hard and squinting I could just about see the ‘change’ in the colours depending on the context in which I saw them, but only just.

Image

I am not sure if the grey paper I had helped the situation when it came to generating an after image either. I really struggled to see any tinge at all. However the printed example in the file showed it quite well.

Image

All in all whilst I did find the exercises a bit laborious and not too successful, I did find them interesting. I will certainly bear it all in mind in the future as I think the exercises will certainly help when it comes to future projects and made me think a lot more closely at how I see colour in the world around me.

About Julie Hooker

Having recently returned to my roots in Surrey, I am currently studying a BA Hons degree with the OCA. My work is often inspired by the local countryside in the beautiful Surrey Hills area and the wild rugged nature of the North Cornish coast. Steam engines and abandoned industrial history are also recent themes. A free machine embroiderer and felt maker; I like to explore the use of natural, found materials to create my art, whether that be as raw materials to stitch or weave with or as a material with which to produce dye or print with. Previously, I completed City and Guilds parts 1 & 2 Creative Embroidery at the East Berkshire College in Windsor in 2007. I was also awarded first place in the wearable art section of the National Quilt Championships 2008 and 2009 held annually at Sandown Park.
This entry was posted in ACA and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

