Project 3 review

 

  • Were you able to mix and match colours accurately?

I had some success in mixing and matching colours with some exceptions, Violet being the main problem. Trying to achieve a true violet and other purples was very difficult to do with the basic range of colours I had at my disposal. Some more experiments with secondary and tertiary colours is needed to achieve this.

  • Were you able to use colour expressively?

I think I achieved this. I found colour to express mood particularly daunting at the beginning but by the end of the exercises I found it a little easier.

  • Can you now see colour rather than accepting what you think you see?

It was very interesting doing the exercises looking at shadows created by objects. I had always thought of shadows as Grey or black. Looking really hard at objects certainly helped me to see that the shadows cast by brightly coloured objects in fact had colour in them too. This will certainly help with my textile design work.

  • Do you prefer to work with water colours or gouache / acrylic  paints? What was the difference?

I found it depends on what sort of image I am working from or what sort of colour mood I want to achieve. Watercolours have a more subtle almost chalky look to them they also have a softer textural appearance than the acrylics that are brighter and harsher in colour and texture.

  • How successful were the exercises in Stage 5? How did they compare to the painting exercises?

I feel the stage 5 exercises I did were successful to varying degrees; the hand exercises were perhaps slightly less successful than the machine. I found it much harder to get the colours to blend using hand techniques than I did using the machine techniques. I perhaps chose the wrong combinations or perhaps the stitching was too bold. I did manage a degree of colour blending but you really do have to look from quite a distance to appreciate it!

  • Is there anything you would like to change or develop?

I think if I were to do the exercises again, I would change the colours slightly. A lighter blue may have merged more successfully with the yellow than the darker blue I used. These exercises also took me a very long time and I got a bit bogged down with them to be honest. Smaller samples more quickly done may have been more expressive.

About Julie Hooker

Having recently returned to my roots in Surrey, I am currently studying a BA Hons degree with the OCA. My work is often inspired by the local countryside in the beautiful Surrey Hills area and the wild rugged nature of the North Cornish coast. Steam engines and abandoned industrial history are also recent themes. A free machine embroiderer and felt maker; I like to explore the use of natural, found materials to create my art, whether that be as raw materials to stitch or weave with or as a material with which to produce dye or print with. Previously, I completed City and Guilds parts 1 & 2 Creative Embroidery at the East Berkshire College in Windsor in 2007. I was also awarded first place in the wearable art section of the National Quilt Championships 2008 and 2009 held annually at Sandown Park.
This entry was posted in ACA and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

