Research point 2- My Gold work bag

2013-05-20 13.04.15

I brought this bag when I was about 14, so I guess that means I’ve owned it for 23 years now. We had a charity antiques fair at school and I fell in love with it. I seem to remember it was £11.00 which seemed a lot of money at the time (my pocket money was about £2.50  a week then) but I had to have it! I think mum lent me some towards it, providing that I used it.

Well use it I have. My prom dress was designed to go with it – I used the blue body of the peacock as inspiration and it has been with me to nearly every other social event since! It just seems to go with everything as it is just so unusual. I may even use it for my upcoming wedding!

2013-05-20 13.04.23

I am not sure when it was made, although after doing some research online I managed to find some bags that were similar in style and construction that were made in the 1950’s in India for the export market.

The design I believe is Indian in origin as well, the Peacock is a very significant motif in India, it is the national bird and is widely found in folk tales and Indian mythology. It is used to symbolize grace, pride and beauty.

The bag is all worked in gold work except for the body of the peacock, which is satin stitch, and it looks to have been worked by hand. It is on a natural velvet ground and is lined with black satin which feels so nice when you place your hand in to retrieve something.

2013-05-20 13.04.35

About Julie Hooker

Having recently returned to my roots in Surrey, I am currently studying a BA Hons degree with the OCA. My work is often inspired by the local countryside in the beautiful Surrey Hills area and the wild rugged nature of the North Cornish coast. Steam engines and abandoned industrial history are also recent themes. A free machine embroiderer and felt maker; I like to explore the use of natural, found materials to create my art, whether that be as raw materials to stitch or weave with or as a material with which to produce dye or print with. Previously, I completed City and Guilds parts 1 & 2 Creative Embroidery at the East Berkshire College in Windsor in 2007. I was also awarded first place in the wearable art section of the National Quilt Championships 2008 and 2009 held annually at Sandown Park.
This entry was posted in ACA. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

