Project 5 – A larger sample and review of Project 5

Originally, for my larger sample I wanted to use the button design as it worked so well visually and as a piece of printed fabric. I usually print fabrics as a background to be stitched into so I was pleasantly surprised when this design developed. Unfortunately I cannot print it big enough on my A3 printer to fulfill the criteria for a larger sample (either 40cm x 40cm or 30cm x 50cm), which is a shame but I will be printing some more of it up to use for some sewing projects. A couple of friends have asked for some too!

2013-07-15 16.16.21

2013-07-15 16.12.46

I therefore concentrated on this design, derived from some motifs in the Gallopers experiments. It is much more my norm as it will work really well as a background for stitch. The design was printed using the funky foam blocks I made and fabric paint on a man-made fabric. the pattern created across the fabric is very effective. It is also true to the gaudy nature of the fair ground art and is quite folksy in appearence.

2013-07-17 23.01.38

2013-07-08 19.49.15

Review of Project 5 –

Do you feel you made a good selection from your drawings to use as source material for your design ideas? Which interpretations work best? Why?

I felt I made a good selection from my drawings to use as source material from my design ideas. The outcomes were varied but all were successful in their own way. The pattern interpretations I felt worked best creating very different results from the source yet still staying true to their origins. The amount of possibilities were endless and I found myself almost overrun with ideas.

Which fabrics did you choose? Which particular qualities appealed to you?

I chose a range of fabrics and techniques to explore this subject. Overall I found smooth fabrics produced better results as the prints were clearer but textured surfaces provided much more interest.

Is the scale of marks and shapes on your samples appropriate to the fabric, for example, sheer, textured, heavyweight? Why? Do the marks and shapes seem well placed, too crowded or too far apart? Were you aware of the negative shapes that were forming in between the positive shapes? What elements are harmonising in each sample? Is there a balance between the two that produces an interesting tension?

I felt that I was able to make marks to an appropriate scale for the size and type of fabric used. Sometimes this meant rescaling the design to suit. My patterns created almost as many negative shapes as positive ones which provided a good balance within the design. Most produced printed fabric which would work very well for backgrounds to stitch into. Some produced outcomes (such as the button design) which would work really well as a sewing fabric requiring no added embellishment.

How successful do you think your larger sample is? Do you like the design? Have you created or extended your ideas from the smaller samples so that there is a visible development between the two? Does your repeating design flow across the surface without obvious internal edges?

I liked both my larger samples for different reasons. The button design was very different from anything I have designed previously which was unexpected but pleasing. The design was developed from a smaller sample and there is a clear visible development between the two. The repeating design flowed well across the surface with some internal marks but not edges.

The gallopers design also was clearly developed from an earlier design. It was much more striking than the button design as it was bolder in design and colour. Again the pattern flowed across the surface well with the positive motifs creating very strong negative shapes yet being well balanced and harmonious at the same time.

About Julie Hooker

Having recently returned to my roots in Surrey, I am currently studying a BA Hons degree with the OCA. My work is often inspired by the local countryside in the beautiful Surrey Hills area and the wild rugged nature of the North Cornish coast. Steam engines and abandoned industrial history are also recent themes. A free machine embroiderer and felt maker; I like to explore the use of natural, found materials to create my art, whether that be as raw materials to stitch or weave with or as a material with which to produce dye or print with. Previously, I completed City and Guilds parts 1 & 2 Creative Embroidery at the East Berkshire College in Windsor in 2007. I was also awarded first place in the wearable art section of the National Quilt Championships 2008 and 2009 held annually at Sandown Park.
This entry was posted in ACA and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

