Mark making with thermal till rolls and Uhu glue!

Today I have been experimenting with some scrap thermal till rolls from work. I started off by placing objects onto the till roll and heating with a heat gun. The items included: Sellotape and drawing pins, paper clips, staples and scissors.
The results were exciting if a little haphazard with surreal, dreamlike images appearing.

20131015-222727.jpg

I then tried blowing hot air through a stencil, this was not terribly successful as the hot air warmed the surrounding area and made the mark indistinct. More successful was sticking blue tack to the paper to create a mask then heating.

As I stuck the samples into my sketchbook I noticed that something odd was happening; the glue was reacting with the paper. This was a surprising development as I had not expected it but I then decided to see what happened if I used the glue on the front and then the back of the paper.

20131015-222743.jpg

Using Uhu on the back of the paper gave a controllable black mark, on the front; a tramline effect enabling some great mark making opportunities.

20131015-222821.jpg20131015-222804.jpg

I would also like to try spraying hairspray onto the paper as after discussing my experiments with fellow students via the OCA Facebook pages, it has been suggested that that reacts as well.

Further developments would be to try pressing heated objects on to the thermal paper or leaving items on top of the paper and leaving in the sun to see what a lower heat will achieve.

About Julie Hooker

Having recently returned to my roots in Surrey, I am currently studying a BA Hons degree with the OCA. My work is often inspired by the local countryside in the beautiful Surrey Hills area and the wild rugged nature of the North Cornish coast. Steam engines and abandoned industrial history are also recent themes. A free machine embroiderer and felt maker; I like to explore the use of natural, found materials to create my art, whether that be as raw materials to stitch or weave with or as a material with which to produce dye or print with. Previously, I completed City and Guilds parts 1 & 2 Creative Embroidery at the East Berkshire College in Windsor in 2007. I was also awarded first place in the wearable art section of the National Quilt Championships 2008 and 2009 held annually at Sandown Park.
This entry was posted in ACA and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

