Project 6 – stage 3 – Applied fabric techniques

20131109-114806.jpgSelection of my experimental samples for Stage 3 – Applied fabric techniques

I have always really enjoyed applique and applied fabric techniques. More than anything I like taking plain fabrics and giving them a new life by combining them with others to make new cloth on which to stitch. To me it is more interesting to the eye than printing or painting the fabric as it creates added texture and depth as well as pattern.

It was very nice during this section of the course to revisit some favorite techniques, such as reverse or cutback applique (the diamond shaped sample shown above), and try out some new ones like the trapped sheers (‘flimsy’ sample shown above).

I chose to develop these techniques further in my final applique sample (below). Based on my pineapple skin designs, two layers of fabric were stitched together in a ‘net’ design and sections removed to show the bottom layer. This (I hope) hints at the smooth bottom layers of the pineapple skin beneath the rough, peeling outer skin which I tried to imitate by adding scrim shapes which were applied with straight stitch to create a rough frayed edge.

20131109-114820.jpgApplique sample in progress

20131109-114834.jpgFinished applique sample

20131109-162721.jpgThe original source picture – a pineapple ripening on my kitchen window sill

All in all I am thrilled with my final applique sample. It came out so much better than expected. I love the pattern, texture and the way it relates to my source. It is just so happy and joyous.

I had never really noticed the different layers in pineapple skin until I took the time to study it closely, both through my developmental drawings and the fabric collages in stage 2.

The design has a lovely Art Deco feel which I always find satisfying in a pattern. I don’t really understand why but I quite often end up with and Art Deco feel to my patterns, even though they never start off with that intention! I guess it must just a very strong subliminal influence.

About Julie Hooker

Having recently returned to my roots in Surrey, I am currently studying a BA Hons degree with the OCA. My work is often inspired by the local countryside in the beautiful Surrey Hills area and the wild rugged nature of the North Cornish coast. Steam engines and abandoned industrial history are also recent themes. A free machine embroiderer and felt maker; I like to explore the use of natural, found materials to create my art, whether that be as raw materials to stitch or weave with or as a material with which to produce dye or print with. Previously, I completed City and Guilds parts 1 & 2 Creative Embroidery at the East Berkshire College in Windsor in 2007. I was also awarded first place in the wearable art section of the National Quilt Championships 2008 and 2009 held annually at Sandown Park.
This entry was posted in ACA and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

