Part 5 – A piece of your own – Stage 3 – Developing your design cont.

Whilst I have been developing the design work I have also been thinking about the final textile item I would like to make.

I would like to make something wearable rather than a cushion or wall hanging. I feel the scale of the artwork and the technique I am working with would suit this purpose better. I am not a fan of waistcoats myself, I find them a bit boring generally and it would be nice to have a wearable item I may like to wear. A bag or a collar would be more appealing to me.

Image

 

Steam Punk Accessories

 

Image

As I have been experimenting with the gears and cogs for this project I thought I would take a closer look at the Steampunk style and noticed that some of the accessories would fit very well into this brief, one of the main items being the collars that are a very popular choice as part of the outfits.

I feel it would be really nice to make a collar for my final piece. I would like to design a more grown up, everyday style that I could wear during the colder months to keep me warm, rather than an intricate leather collar but it would be nice to have the Steampunk feel to it.

The most important considerations are the following: Warmth, Comfort, How it will be worn and what type of closure will be needed.

Bearing all this in mind I came up with the following working design, as you can see it is strongly derived from the blend of original source pictures.

Image

It will be made from handmade felt to simulate the soft background in my source, painted Bondaweb appliqués and free machine embroidery. As I am planning to use bondaweb for the applied shapes I will need a layer of chiffon over the Bondaweb layer. This will then be blended in to the background felt using an embellisher machine to merge the layers together. Small beads will be applied in shades of blue and green to reference the colours in the background of the original colour source picture (below). The folded top part of the collar will hopefully create the sense of layers of gears again inspired by the original images

Image

2014-06-04 10.11.47

2014-06-05 09.49.52

 

 

 

 

About Julie Hooker

Having recently returned to my roots in Surrey, I am currently studying a BA Hons degree with the OCA. My work is often inspired by the local countryside in the beautiful Surrey Hills area and the wild rugged nature of the North Cornish coast. Steam engines and abandoned industrial history are also recent themes. A free machine embroiderer and felt maker; I like to explore the use of natural, found materials to create my art, whether that be as raw materials to stitch or weave with or as a material with which to produce dye or print with. Previously, I completed City and Guilds parts 1 & 2 Creative Embroidery at the East Berkshire College in Windsor in 2007. I was also awarded first place in the wearable art section of the National Quilt Championships 2008 and 2009 held annually at Sandown Park.
This entry was posted in ACA. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

