Assignment 5 – Stage 4 – Making your textile piece

 

Close up of sample showing the start of stitching over the Bondaweb and chiffon layers. This is before the chiffon is felted into the background. Image

 

Close up of sample showing stitching over the Bondaweb and chiffon layers after the chiffon is felted into the background. 

Image

finished sample showing the front left hand side of the collar. Complete with beading. After much thought I decided not to bead the bottom layer of gears to make them appear more in the background choosing to only bead the top layer completely.

Image

 

The completed collar with some of the design work and samples

  Image

 

Can you see a continuous thread of development from your original drawings and samples to the final designs?

Most definitely, it is particularly strong between the black and white images and the final design, all be it with a different colour theme. The soft iridescent background from the main source was also maintained by the use of felt and beading as a background.

Do you feel you made the right decisions at each stage of the design process? If not, what changes changes would you make?

I think I did make the right choices for me at this moment. This project could just as easily taken another route as there was so much that could have developed from the source material I collected. However I almost gave myself the brief of creating something I would actually wear, which I have done so I don’t think I would want to change anything as far as this item goes but there are plenty more opportunities and ideas available for me to draw on in the future.

Were you able to interpret your ideas well within the techniques and materials you chose to work with?

I think the techniques I chose worked very well. I wanted to create a rusty texture and colours for the gears which I feel I have achieved by taking the slightly unusual route of using painted Bondaweb instead of fabric shapes with rough machine embroidery over them. This is in contrast to the soft background and iridescent beading which is a contrast that I feel works well and adds interest to the overall piece.

How successful is your final design in terms of being inventive within the medium and coherent as a whole?

I feel the piece is coherent as a development from my original drawings and samples and is relatively inventive considering the constraint of being wearable. Traditional wet felting was not an option with this piece due to the choice of bondaweb and the need therefore to have a chiffon layer which will not felt in. To overcome this I used an embellishing machine to blend the fabrics together. This worked particularly well, it is difficult to see where the chiffon ends and the felt begins.The mix of techniques and fabrics chosen is slightly outside the norm but they work together well to achieve an outcome that I am pleased with. 

About Julie Hooker

Having recently returned to my roots in Surrey, I am currently studying a BA Hons degree with the OCA. My work is often inspired by the local countryside in the beautiful Surrey Hills area and the wild rugged nature of the North Cornish coast. Steam engines and abandoned industrial history are also recent themes. A free machine embroiderer and felt maker; I like to explore the use of natural, found materials to create my art, whether that be as raw materials to stitch or weave with or as a material with which to produce dye or print with. Previously, I completed City and Guilds parts 1 & 2 Creative Embroidery at the East Berkshire College in Windsor in 2007. I was also awarded first place in the wearable art section of the National Quilt Championships 2008 and 2009 held annually at Sandown Park.
This entry was posted in ACA. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

