Exploring Ideas – Part 2, Project Stage 1, Sketchbook work ‘Man-made environment’

2014-12-01 12.54.36

I started this project with a simple brainstorming exercise based on the words man-made environment. This is a process I always try to do at the beginning of a new project as it helps me to focus on the subject at hand. Various sub topics came to mind including: City Scapes, Roof tops, Power stations, Wind farms, Buildings, Churches

Following on from these further ideas developed; Maps, Chimneys, Steam outlets, Electric lines, Spires, Gargoyles, Wind mills, Solar farms, Water mills, Mobile phone masts, Roof tops, Slums, Windows, Doors, Beams, Woodwork etc.

After completing this first exercise I wanted to start looking for images to use as source material. a quick google search produced some beautiful images to investigate. I have started a pinterest board to collect these images together. I find pinterest a very useful tool to store and group together initial ideas so that I can easily find them again!

Here are some of my favourite source pictures:

Julie’s board,Manmade environment on Pinterest.

I have also been looking at some other artists that relate to environmental issues:

Cas Holmes is a British textile artist best known for her printed / dyed backgrounds, using found objects and line stitched motifs.

She ‘has an abiding interest in the connections between land, place and environment. Trained in fine art, her works in mixed media and found materials are a reflection on aspects of ‘Urban Nature’, and are best described as ‘cloth paintings with stitch’.’ (casholmestextiles.co.uk)

I really like Cas’ work. At first glance it is very pretty and beautifully worked but on  a deeper level the fragile nature of the pieces makes the viewer think about the fragility of the environment.

 

 

I first encountered Anne Honeyman’s work long before I took up machine embroidery. I fell in love with her embroidered ‘meadow bowls’. I have always meant to have a go at making one but have never got around to it. Like Cas Holmes she explores Man’s impact on the natural environment and how fragile nature is through delicate interlinked motifs and structures.

There is a fab interview on Anne and this subject on the textile org. website: http://www.textileartist.org/anne-honeyman-interview-fragility-fluidity-and-structure/

Her Etsy shop can be found here: http://www.annehoneyman.com/page7.htm

About Julie Hooker

Having recently returned to my roots in Surrey, I am currently studying a BA Hons degree with the OCA. My work is often inspired by the local countryside in the beautiful Surrey Hills area and the wild rugged nature of the North Cornish coast. Steam engines and abandoned industrial history are also recent themes. A free machine embroiderer and felt maker; I like to explore the use of natural, found materials to create my art, whether that be as raw materials to stitch or weave with or as a material with which to produce dye or print with. Previously, I completed City and Guilds parts 1 & 2 Creative Embroidery at the East Berkshire College in Windsor in 2007. I was also awarded first place in the wearable art section of the National Quilt Championships 2008 and 2009 held annually at Sandown Park.
This entry was posted in EI Assignment 2, EI Project 2 - Screen Printing, EI Sketchbook Work, Exploring Ideas and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

