Assignment 2 – Application of design ideas

2015-02-14 14.22.44

My original source for the final print for assignment 2. I love the harsh structure against the cheery orange and yellow background.

After a rethink of the way to create my stencil to create the sharp image I wanted I came back to using sticky backed plastic. Due to the complexity of the motif I used it to create a resist over which I spread the blocking agent. The sticky backed plastic was then removed leaving the positive shape to print. This worked brilliantly and saved an awful lot of cutting and sticking small ‘islands’ onto the screen!

2015-02-15 12.18.34

The sticky-backed plastic resist ready to apply to the screen

2015-02-15 12.32.24

Applying the blocking agent

2015-02-16 13.12.40 2015-02-16 13.12.33

The printed image with vilene stencilled background using 3 colours to emulate a sunset sky.

2015-02-16 13.11.52

My final design board for assignment 2

Conclusion

Overall I am really pleased with my final design and the panel itself. I feel it relates strongly to the original source and development work. I feel the design decisions which led to my final piece resulted in a striking and very individual design. The piece heavily hints at the structures of pylons striding strongly across the ‘natural environment’ showing just how much the manmade and natural environment overlap. It also has a very urban feel and reminds me strongly of graffiti, particularly ‘tags’ regularly seen on walls in our urban ‘manmade environment’. Therefore fitting the original theme very well.

I found this assignmet quite challenging. For a start I had never tried screen printing before and found it very difficult to achieve the look I wanted. I am not sure that I would choose to use this technique again in the future but it has been an interesting exercise!

About Julie Hooker

Having recently returned to my roots in Surrey, I am currently studying a BA Hons degree with the OCA. My work is often inspired by the local countryside in the beautiful Surrey Hills area and the wild rugged nature of the North Cornish coast. Steam engines and abandoned industrial history are also recent themes. A free machine embroiderer and felt maker; I like to explore the use of natural, found materials to create my art, whether that be as raw materials to stitch or weave with or as a material with which to produce dye or print with. Previously, I completed City and Guilds parts 1 & 2 Creative Embroidery at the East Berkshire College in Windsor in 2007. I was also awarded first place in the wearable art section of the National Quilt Championships 2008 and 2009 held annually at Sandown Park.
This entry was posted in EI Assignment 2, EI Project 2 - Screen Printing, Exploring Ideas and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

