Exploring Ideas – Project 3 – Stage 5: Translating ideas into samples

Having reviewed my source material I have developed it a little further to inspire some new samples:

I don’t want to go too far planning the samples as I want to try to keep a little experimentation going as I have enjoyed being led by the techniques and the materials. However some visual references are needed

2015-06-02 20.14.182015-06-02 20.14.24
2015-06-02 20.14.31

2015-06-02 20.14.442015-06-02 20.15.00

2015-06-07 12.46.22

2015-06-07 12.47.51

So far I feel these ideas have the potential to meet the requirements of the project, both in terms of their transparency qualities and the theme of reveal and conceal.

Samples

2015-06-14 15.34.31

My Finished 10 samples, all very different but I feel, quite cohesive as a body of work on th etheme of reveal & conceal. Each is either made up of layers that conceal or reveal further layers or has transparent qualities.

2015-06-14 15.37.28

As mentioned previously; I really like this sample. I can see it made up on a larger scale as a hanging. It looks great as previously shown, back-lit with artificial light to show the various layers of transparency.

2015-06-14 15.35.20

Based on the wet rocks seen in Cornwall, these two samples are multi layered and make use of the bonded techniques used in workshop 6. I mounted the first in a window mount with no backing to enable it to be held up to the light.

2015-06-14 15.35.51

The second has been mounted on a flat board as the light is less important. Shadows are nicely cast beneath it though.

2015-06-14 15.36.49

Amber was the visual source chosen for these three samples. the first uses bonding techniques to explore trapped objects. This is more of a preliminary idea sample but it works well held up to the light and could be further developed with stitch.

2015-06-14 15.36.33

This sample has been further developed with shadow quilting techniques. I really like this sample as although subtle, held up to the light it reveals layers that are not apparent when held flat.

2015-06-14 15.36.20

The third sample in this set uses a laminator to encapsulate cellophane, fabric and embroidered elements. Held up to the light a lovely amber like glow appears as well as the bubbles and objects becoming more apparent.

2015-06-14 15.36.02

My final four samples take their visual sources from St Ives in Cornwall; they are based on the fishing nets, tackle and boats I saw in the harbour on a recent visit. The first uses printed organza and various threads encapsulated using a laminator to great effect to recreate the tangled fishing tackle on the quayside.

2015-06-14 15.35.36

I started to experiment with looking through nets in this preliminary sample. This developed on to the next sample which I feel really conveys the feeling I was looking for.

2015-06-14 15.37.17This finished sample uses various embroidered nets to reveal and conceal areas of the scene. I have used two layers of sheer fabric which are frayed at the edges to convey a worn weathered look

2015-06-14 15.37.03

It struck me whilst I was working on the previous two samples that it would be interesting to use layers and cut back through to reveal a hidden layer beneath. This preliminary sample uses a stitch and rip technique to add texture and depth. When held up to the light there is a cute surprise lurking beneath the water as well!

About Julie Hooker

Having recently returned to my roots in Surrey, I am currently studying a BA Hons degree with the OCA. My work is often inspired by the local countryside in the beautiful Surrey Hills area and the wild rugged nature of the North Cornish coast. Steam engines and abandoned industrial history are also recent themes. A free machine embroiderer and felt maker; I like to explore the use of natural, found materials to create my art, whether that be as raw materials to stitch or weave with or as a material with which to produce dye or print with. Previously, I completed City and Guilds parts 1 & 2 Creative Embroidery at the East Berkshire College in Windsor in 2007. I was also awarded first place in the wearable art section of the National Quilt Championships 2008 and 2009 held annually at Sandown Park.
This entry was posted in EI Assignment 3, EI Project 3 - Reveal & Conceal, Exploring Ideas. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

