Part 5 – Personal Project – Stage 4 & 5 Making a storyboard and translating ideas into textile samples

Stage 4 of this part of the course involves making a storyboard:

I arranged some of the above source and development work as well as some of my trial samples and materials on a piece of A3 thin card to make my story board:

20160115_080645.jpg

As you can see it is still a bit basic but contains my initial ideas; the gerbera flowers, my trial technique sample, colour study and fibres.I feel this board gives me a sense of what I am trying to achieve; love the bright zingy colours and although the samples are not quite working (I think I need to make some felt then apply it, rather than adding raw wool roving). it has shown me the way forward.

Now this is complete I can move on to the really exciting bit – sampling and developing my ideas into a finished piece:

20160115_080746.jpg

I already have a strong idea in my head. I would like to make a small bag preferably with a round base which will make use of the flower design. I have been trialling various shapes and designs but have settled on the idea of a Japanese knot bag. They are incredibly simple in form with just two sides and a base which means the minimum number of seams. As the bag will be very detailed I need a simple construction to avoid cluttering the design with excessive seams and panels.

I want to keep the strong lines and shapes developed so far and want the felt to remain slightly raised with the background being flat, however I want the background to contain detail and markings similar to the drawings I have been developing. To achieve this I am adding hand stitch and fibres to the background before machine embroidering over the top as shown below.

2015-10-12 08.20.05 2015-10-14 19.31.00

The felt being applied to a preprinted calico background then hand stitch and fibres being applied to the background. Finally machine stitch is added using variegated threads.

Now I am happy with the technique I can move on to the final planning and making stage.

 

About Julie Hooker

Having recently returned to my roots in Surrey, I am currently studying a BA Hons degree with the OCA. My work is often inspired by the local countryside in the beautiful Surrey Hills area and the wild rugged nature of the North Cornish coast. Steam engines and abandoned industrial history are also recent themes. A free machine embroiderer and felt maker; I like to explore the use of natural, found materials to create my art, whether that be as raw materials to stitch or weave with or as a material with which to produce dye or print with. Previously, I completed City and Guilds parts 1 & 2 Creative Embroidery at the East Berkshire College in Windsor in 2007. I was also awarded first place in the wearable art section of the National Quilt Championships 2008 and 2009 held annually at Sandown Park.
This entry was posted in EI Assignment 5, Exploring Ideas and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

