Part 2 – sorting

image

I chose this sample for its simplicity. The meandering line reminds me of the walk I took through the woods collecting leaves. I love the slightly mottled slow decay of the leaves. If this sample survives the to and fro for assessment I will be mounting it in a frame.

image

This sample is so simple yet works so well, the black grass worked really well for Stitching I have now planted some in the garden so I will be able to develop this idea on in the future. I would like to try sewing a large number of leaves together like this to create a patchwork.

image

Another simple idea that just appeals. I would like to create a series of these perhaps using different leaves or a variety of colours either joined together or mounted in a row. Perhaps alternated shades of leaf would work well?

image
I really enjoyed making this sample. It was a bit of a challenge to sew all the components together. I like the combination of textures and the way the colours work together. I can see this design developing well if scaled up into a panel or hanging with a bit more development.

image
This sample was fun to make and really reminded me of a corsetry style and heirloom work. I enjoyed using the staples in a creative way so I chose this sample for the technique rather than the final piece. I would really like to experiment more in the future combining staples and other similar items with traditional heirloom work.

image
I loved the wrapping exercises, this sample in particular reminds me stongly of Judith Scott’s wrapped totems. I really like the way the layers of colours work together to create a lively sample with a life of its own.

image

I think this sample was my favourite to make. I had difficulty using the moss to start with but once resolved it worked really well. This sort of idea would work really well in a woodland setting and I had great fun photographing it outdoors. It would also work well as part of a larger collection of natural works, another idea for the future!

image

image

Of all the wrapped jug exercises these were my favourite outcomes. I love these as a duo. The contrast between the two is very striking and they would work really well as a series charting the progress of a relationship for example.

image

I have selected this sample as it was a bit challenging to make but fills me with a sense of fun. Weaving in between the teeth before wrapping the rest of the comb provided a variation in texture and pattern and wrapping the wire around at the end added another dimension. I decided to leave the wire reels as another layer and to add more detail.

image
I got in a lot of trouble with my family and friends for this sample. I have to be honest and say that I really enjoyed wrapping the duck I’m layers of wool. I purposely left the eye and beak showing as it reminded me of Judith Scott’s wrapped dolls. I also like the way the layers of colours and texture work together to make a very unusual if slightly creepy sample.

About Julie Hooker

Having recently returned to my roots in Surrey, I am currently studying a BA Hons degree with the OCA. My work is often inspired by the local countryside in the beautiful Surrey Hills area and the wild rugged nature of the North Cornish coast. Steam engines and abandoned industrial history are also recent themes. A free machine embroiderer and felt maker; I like to explore the use of natural, found materials to create my art, whether that be as raw materials to stitch or weave with or as a material with which to produce dye or print with. Previously, I completed City and Guilds parts 1 & 2 Creative Embroidery at the East Berkshire College in Windsor in 2007. I was also awarded first place in the wearable art section of the National Quilt Championships 2008 and 2009 held annually at Sandown Park.
This entry was posted in Mixed Media For Textiles, MM part 2. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

