Review against the assessment criteria – part 2

Demonstration of technical and visual skills
I have tried a lot of new techniques in this assignment so I am quite sure that the samples are not of the best technically but they are experimental and I’m sure they would be improved with more research and development. Overall I pleased with the results of the exercises and am satisfied with them visually as well.

Quality of outcome
I am relatively confident that the quality of outcome is good, once mounted I think they will show as a good set of samples for assessment. I feel that some guidelines on mounting this kind of work would be very useful as I have quite a large selection of photographs, drawings and delicate samples some of which are very 3D

Demonstration of creativity
I tried my best during the projects to push myself to leave my comfort zone behind and experiment as much as I could. I true to use the course guidelines as a starting point and then put my own spin on the exercises. I hope this will help improve my work against the last assignment which I think I took too literally and didn’t experiment enough.

Context
I found the research for this section of the course really inspiring, I think this helped me to produce interesting samples based on my research. Hopefully this improves on my last assignment’s weaknesses as well.

Other reflections on part two and hopes for part three

I have enjoyed part two a lot more than I did part one. I feel was  a bit more engaged with it. I was really out of my comfort zone throughout but feel I have produced some interesting experimental samples that have sparked off quite a few ideas for the future.

I am still struggling with the drawing side of things but have started to take steps towards conquering this. I have done a few exercises in my sketchbook using pencils to produce marks. I will be adding to this as I go along with other media. I am also currently working on a small travel sketchbook with work inspired by my recent visit to Cornwall. I have enclosed a couple of photocopied pages for my tutor to view with my assignment submission and larger sketchbook. I have also enrolled on Dionne Swift’s online sketchbook course which has been recommended by a lot of other students to help break the fear of sketchbooks for those (like me) who are not natural sketchbook keepers.

I really hope to continue to develop some of the samples produced during this section of the course, I have really enjoyed using leaves and natural materials and would like to explore this further. I will be doing some research and experiments to work out the best way of preserving the leaves for the long term. It really is an exciting avenue to explore and I hope to be able to use natural materials in the upcoming parts of the course.

I would like to try some leaf printing and trapping of leaves in the next couple of projects. I would also like to try re-creating some of the textures of the leaves in stitch then possibly take some impressions of these.

 

About Julie Hooker

Having recently returned to my roots in Surrey, I am currently studying a BA Hons degree with the OCA. My work is often inspired by the local countryside in the beautiful Surrey Hills area and the wild rugged nature of the North Cornish coast. Steam engines and abandoned industrial history are also recent themes. A free machine embroiderer and felt maker; I like to explore the use of natural, found materials to create my art, whether that be as raw materials to stitch or weave with or as a material with which to produce dye or print with. Previously, I completed City and Guilds parts 1 & 2 Creative Embroidery at the East Berkshire College in Windsor in 2007. I was also awarded first place in the wearable art section of the National Quilt Championships 2008 and 2009 held annually at Sandown Park.
This entry was posted in Mixed Media For Textiles, MM part 2. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

