Tutor feedback part 2

I am really pleased with the following feedback for this part of the course, I must admit that having used the course instructions more as guidelines and going off on my own little tangent I was not sure how it would go. Whilst I waited for my feedback to arrive I looked at some of the other student’s work for this section mine seemed a very different interpretation which made me worry even more! It just goes to show how difficult it is when studying by distant learning to gauge how well you are doing and how lonely it can be sometimes.

Overall Comments

Julie despite being out of your ‘comfort zone’ during this part there is evidence you have really engaged with the course material and been experimental.  This has lead to some very pleasing samples and a demonstration of risk taking.  Well done.  You have used drawing regularly and I think effectively to explore your samples.  Your research material is relevant and varied with evidence you are developing a language to discuss and analyse the work of others.  Your learning log shows developing critical and reflective thinking when examining your own creative output.

Assignment 2 and 4 Assessment potential

I understand your aim is to go for the Textiles Degree and that you plan to submit your work for assessment at the end of this course. From the work you have shown in this assignment, providing you commit yourself to the course, I believe you have the potential to pass at assessment.  In order to meet all the assessment criteria, there are certain areas you will need to focus on, which I will outline in my feedback.  

Feedback on assignment

Demonstration of technical and Visual Skills, Quality of Outcome, Demonstration of Creativity

I have really enjoyed looking at your wrapped samples, I understand what a weird task this seems at first but you have really engaged with it and made it your own.  In all the samples you have sent me but in particular the duck, dinosaur and plastic tape there appears to be a consideration to colour and line.  By this I mean the colour palettes you have used are pleasing and interesting but also the quantity and spread of the colour.  You have done this by using different widths of yarn, fabric and other materials.  This suggests you where considering the overall composition just as you would a stitched piece.  I also like the way you have used wire to add another almost separate raised layer to the wrapped dinosaur, the structure of the wire has allowed you to create a ‘floating’ surface that you may want to investigate further in the future.  Your moss and leaf wrappings are an interesting take on the task especially as you have investigated their effect by photographing them in the natural environment.  You could take this step further by placing them in very urban areas to see how different they look there.

You have also thoroughly explored joining by putting together a number of different materials in different ways.  Your card, leaf and fabric patchwork works really well.  There is a nice balance of shapes, colours and textures.  I also rather like the sample where you have stitched hessian to piece of card but the stitches (in red) make a rectangular line across the two sides.   I can see how you could develop these ideas further by creating larger forms in a range of materials.

I suggest you continue to take risks in your practice by fully engaging in the tasks set out and pushing them in directions that seem exciting to you.

Sketchbooks

Demonstration of technical and Visual Skills, Demonstration of Creativity

I feel like you don’t have the same confidence with drawing as you do with the other elements of the course.  This is quite natural and many textiles students struggle with their feelings towards drawing.  In this part you have made a good effort with drawing and are particularly effective with the drawings of the duck, dinosaur and hole punch.  I also like your use of rubbings to explore the joining samples.  I suggest you continue to practice your drawing and mark making really regularly, try not to be too ‘precious’ with what you get down on paper.  It might be helpful to view your drawings as note taking, similar to taking notes in a lecture or from a phone message.  Think about getting the essence of what you see down in a way that you understand it rather than creating something for someone else to look at.  This will free you to make mistakes and develop your own style.

Research

Context, reflective thinking, critical thinking, analysis

Your research material is well organised and varied.  There is evidence you are really beginning to analyse what you are seeing and making links.  I love it how you have included the images of your wrapped farm machinery along side the work of Christo and Jean Claude.  I suggest you make this link more explicit by putting the pictures on the same page and commenting on their similarities and differences.  I would guess that Christo and Jean Claude would have seen the same wrapped machinery but took the leap to translate this into art.  I suggest you continue to conduct broadminded research making links to your own work and ideas regularly. I have moved the photographic research that I undertook to the suggested page

Learning Logs or Blogs/Critical essays

Context, reflective thinking, critical thinking, analysis

As with the analysis of your research material there is evidence you are continuing to develop the critical thinking required to examine and learn from your own creative out put.  I suggest you make notes whist making your work, getting down any ideas or thoughts you have, however quirky they might seem.  Try not to say or think the ‘right’ thing; let your thoughts and ideas flow as you are making.  Once you have written them go back and reflect on both the process of getting your thoughts on paper and the thoughts themselves.

Pointers for the next assignment

  • Remember to reflect on this feedback in your learning log
  • Continue to take risks and work outside your comfort zone
  • Draw and make marks really regularly to develop your own style
  • Continue to be broadminded in your research
  • Develop your learning log by writing more freely; capturing ideas and thoughts

Please inform me of how you would like your feedback for the next assignment.   Written or video/audio

Well done Julie, I look forward to your next assignment.

Date 6th April 2016
Next assignment due 6th June 2016
About Julie Hooker

Having recently returned to my roots in Surrey, I am currently studying a BA Hons degree with the OCA. My work is often inspired by the local countryside in the beautiful Surrey Hills area and the wild rugged nature of the North Cornish coast. Steam engines and abandoned industrial history are also recent themes. A free machine embroiderer and felt maker; I like to explore the use of natural, found materials to create my art, whether that be as raw materials to stitch or weave with or as a material with which to produce dye or print with. Previously, I completed City and Guilds parts 1 & 2 Creative Embroidery at the East Berkshire College in Windsor in 2007. I was also awarded first place in the wearable art section of the National Quilt Championships 2008 and 2009 held annually at Sandown Park.
This entry was posted in Mixed Media For Textiles, MM part 2. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

