Part 3 – Sorting

image

I have chosen this sample, inspired by Eduardo Paolozzi’s built up textures for the technique more than the outcome although I feel it to be quite a successful sample. I used pen lids, a knitting needle and a large hair clip pressed into the clay to create a texture based on circles. I have been looking at circles as a theme during the creation of a sketchbook recently and really enjoyed creating this sample. I learnt whilst doing it that the clay relaxes ever so slightly so holes need to be made bigger if you want to stitch into them. This was a good lesson and inspired me to keep playing and experiment with embroidery in clay. Something that I would like to take forward.

image

I chose these two again for the process. I love the mark left behind in the clay once the embroidery is removed but like it even more when the embroidery is left in the clay. It reminds me of marks scratched into walls or prints left in stones from people walking on sand which is a theme I have been thinking about quite a lot recently after a trip to Boscastle in Cornwall where visitors have carved their names into the slate of the cliffs over looking the harbour for many years. It has got me thinking about other marks that have been left by visitors and pilgrims in historic places over the millenia.

image

This was one of a series of samples made by pressing a heavily embroidered piece of hessian into the clay using different amounts of pressure. This one came out as the strongest impression and is one of my favourites. I love exploring my more textural embroidery  in this way as it gives me so much scope to play.

image

I was really pleased with the outcome of this sample. A piece of hand drawn work originally worked on hessian was pressed into clay to collect it’s imprint. This piece reminds me so strongly of fossils and marks left in sand. It almost looks like shed reptile skin. It would be fantastic to carry this through to a final piece of ceramic either a plaque or decoration on a vessel of some sort.

image

I chose this small sample for it’s outcome. It is just so quirky and although made of clay and wire; my embroidery plays a huge part in it’s creation. It would be great to explore this idea on a larger scale perhaps using more jagged rock like shapes?

image

I really like this little bowl shaped sample. The contrast between the smooth plastic and the torn, jagged look of the scrim works beautifully. Again, like the previous sample it would be interesting to try on a larger scale or perhaps a set of 3, all slightly different in shape and size.

image

I really like these two textures together.The contrast in scale and texture between these two is probably my favourite combination of all the textures I captured using this technique.

image

I am repeatedly drawn to look at this sample for some reason. The heavier drawn work sample that worked so well for the clay equally worked well here I love the textures, lines and colour combination of this little sample. I also like the way the hairs on the hessian are enhanced by the pva giving it an almost frosty look.

image

I have chosen this sample as like the way that the texture of the packaging shows either side of the net impression. the change in scale and pattern makes it far more interesting than if it had been molded in a plain tray with no texture.

image

Although I was not as happy with the plaster samples as the other methods, this is my favourite of the set. It is a wonderfully tactile object that you just want to touch and feel. It fits really well in the hand and has some lovely markings in it due to the bubbles and creases from the bag it was cast in.

 

About Julie Hooker

Having recently returned to my roots in Surrey, I am currently studying a BA Hons degree with the OCA. My work is often inspired by the local countryside in the beautiful Surrey Hills area and the wild rugged nature of the North Cornish coast. Steam engines and abandoned industrial history are also recent themes. A free machine embroiderer and felt maker; I like to explore the use of natural, found materials to create my art, whether that be as raw materials to stitch or weave with or as a material with which to produce dye or print with. Previously, I completed City and Guilds parts 1 & 2 Creative Embroidery at the East Berkshire College in Windsor in 2007. I was also awarded first place in the wearable art section of the National Quilt Championships 2008 and 2009 held annually at Sandown Park.
This entry was posted in Mixed Media For Textiles, MM part 3. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Part 3 – Sorting

  1. fibresofbeing says:

    Some wonderful samples. I particularly like those where you have stitched, or left the texturing fibres in place.

Leave a Reply

