Introduction to Part 5

I am glad to be starting part five, but this course does seem to have gone too quickly. It has been an absolutely fascinating journey and so much more interesting and engaging than my first two courses.

I am a little nervous about this part of the course though as I have had so many ideas that I was not sure where to start. I have decided after reading through the course notes for this part of the course to start at part one, look at all my work (both samples and blog posts) and decide which were my favourite parts / techniques etc. and see which could be further developed. Then move on to part two, three and four.

I hope by doing this that the process will help unclog my mind and help to develop a strong response. I need to be able to stay focused though as time is tight. I only have until the end of August to get this course finished as my four year limit for level one is up then. this may well help to dictate what I can accomplish in that timeframe. I cannot get too over ambitious and need to keep things simple. I do have a tendancy to get carried away and things end up taking a lot longer than they should.

 

 

About Julie Hooker

Having recently returned to my roots in Surrey, I am currently studying a BA Hons degree with the OCA. My work is often inspired by the local countryside in the beautiful Surrey Hills area and the wild rugged nature of the North Cornish coast. Steam engines and abandoned industrial history are also recent themes. A free machine embroiderer and felt maker; I like to explore the use of natural, found materials to create my art, whether that be as raw materials to stitch or weave with or as a material with which to produce dye or print with. Previously, I completed City and Guilds parts 1 & 2 Creative Embroidery at the East Berkshire College in Windsor in 2007. I was also awarded first place in the wearable art section of the National Quilt Championships 2008 and 2009 held annually at Sandown Park.
This entry was posted in Mixed Media For Textiles, MM part5. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

