Tutor Feedback – Part 4

I must say I was really disappointed by this feedback. I am very aware that I struggled throughout this assignment. We are currently moving house so time has been really tight, not to mention that the house is being packed up around me, I had trouble with my tools and materials and I am fast approaching the time limit of level one. For this reflection on the feedback I will comment/ explain at the end of each section as I feel it will be easier to follow.

Overall Comments

Julie I have a number of concerns about your work in this printing section of the course. I am aware that learning to print in your own home can be problematic and not everyone gets on the technique. However from your written review of this section you appear to be satisfied with the work produced and judge it to be good against the quality of outcome assessment criteria.  This I find worrying so I suggest you take careful note of my comments and suggestions before considering submitting your work for assessment.  The areas you need to make changes or develop your work are: print outcomes, drawing and learning log content and style.  I don’t want you to feel disheartened because with a small amount of care and adjustment your work will be assessment ready.  As you are coming to the end of your tutor support (September 10th 2016) I suggest you complete assignment 5 then return to this section and make amendments. I will certainly be returning to this section after I have completed part five, as I said all the way through the assignment I was struggling with materials etc. I was satisfied with the learning of the skills, not the outcome. I felt that I was understanding what was going wrong so was satisfied that my method was okay, it was the materials and tools I was using that was causing the issue. I obviously did not explain myself well enough which I will try to rectify in the future. I also genuinely liked some of the outcomes and although I expressed my concern that they were technically not of a good enough standard they were nonetheless interesting and would be easy to develop into textile pieces. I thought that this was a valid point to make as I am studying textiles.

 

Assignment 4 Assessment potential

I understand your aim is to go for the Textiles Degree and that you plan to submit your work for assessment at the end of this course. However, from the work you have shown in this assignment, I am concerned that you may struggle to meet the assessment criteria. I believe you have the potential to pass at assessment but in order to meet all the assessment criteria there are certain areas you will need to focus on, which I will outline in my feedback.       

Feedback Part 4: Mono and Collatype Printing

Demonstration of technical and Visual Skills, Quality of Outcome, Demonstration of Creativity

For this section of the course you have made a number of both mono and collatype prints, it is good that you have enjoyed learning these techniques and can see that they will be useful in future work and projects. However the quality of your printing and your expression of satisfaction with them concerns me.  It is quite all right when starting a new method of working to find that things don’t always turn our well or the results can appear clumsy, tutors and assessors expect this.  What we also look for is the student’s ability to make changes to their working practices to improve the quality of the work and to be able to judge that progress is required.  I will be trying a few of these sections again to try a and improve the quality of the prints

 

I suggest you aim to achieve a more sensitive use of the print inks, thinking carefully about how much to add to the print plate and producing a smooth even finish with your roller. Consider the tools you use, trying out a wide range before deciding which create the desired effect.  When using the tools think about how you hold them, the pressure you apply and the angle used, adjust these to see the changes in your results.  Consider seeing the procedure as a sensual experience where you are learning not only from your outcomes but also the sensations feeding back to you when you are creating.   Make sure you give yourself space and time to make full use of the experience, valuing the work you do and the connection you feel with the materials.

 

I suggest you make a further body of work that demonstrates that you have developed your print work in response to my comments and suggestions, handing this in with the current work at assessment. I plan to revisit some of the exercises to improve the outcomes 

 

Sketchbooks

Demonstration of technical and Visual Skills, Demonstration of Creativity

The ability to draw and use drawing in a variety of different ways is an essential part of studying towards a degree. At assessment your drawing will be examined for your technical ability and the ways you use drawing to develop ideas, share thoughts and reflect on your output.  In this course you are asked to use drawing to encourage reflection and develop a deeper understanding of your work.  This is why you are ask to draw from the work you make, in this case the prints, to learn about the qualities in the work in order to help you make decisions about the direction you need to take your work in. At no point in this section does it refer to drawing your prints, I would not have thought to do this as I felt that printing was a form of drawing.

In this section of the course I am not sure of your motivations in your sketchbook. I can see you are interested in the ‘circle’ but it is not clear if these are preparatory drawings or studies of your prints.  I would suggest that when making preparatory drawings you explore more widely and in a more considered way the circle shape. Observational drawings of your prints I suggest should be made with care, taking your time to study deeply what you see and translating it as best you can on to the page.  This more reflective drawing will help you become a more considered practitioner and achieve a higher mark at assessment. My circle sketchbook is my ‘play book’ trying out ideas related to the circle. This is mainly taking the form of ideas for backgrounds to be worked into for some work I have planned for the future. It also led to a lot of the ideas for swirls and circle patterns made during this assignment and those created in the clay section of the course where I stitched into clay.

 

Research

Context, reflective thinking, critical thinking, analysis

In your review of this part if the course you express that the research material you look at helped you. This is great and exactly what should happen.  To improve how deeply the research shapes your work I suggest you write an analysis of the work you are looking at.  Explain why you think the work of others appeals to you – discuss forms, composition, colour, texture, etc.  This will help you to look more carefully at the work and demonstrates the thinking skills required at this level of study. I will look at this again

 

Learning Logs or Blogs/Critical essays

Context, reflective thinking, critical thinking, analysis

Your learning log for this part of the course though easy to navigate lacks content and the beginnings of analytical thinking required at this stage of study. I suggest you develop your reflective thinking and critical analysis when looking at your work and the work of others. You write in your review that you your results are pleasing, can you pin down why this is?  If something works visually explain why this is the case and what you can learn from it.  Explain in what ways you have pushed yourself and how this has helped the development of your work.  Consider what your weaknesses are and how you plan to make improvement.  In general then I suggest you really drill down to find out what your work is really like so that you can shape and develop it in a meaningful way. I will look at this again

 

Suggested reading/viewing

Context

Critical Thinking Skills: developing effective analysis and argument by Stella Cottrell published by Palgrave Macmillan. In particular Chapter 12, Critical Reflection I do own this book so will take another look but I find it is more relating to written subjects such as creative writing rather that a discipline like textiles, I will pop to the library and see if I can find something to add to it though.

Pointers for the next assignment

  • Reflect on this feedback in your learning log
  • Consider making improvements to your printed work
  • Use drawing as a reflective tool
  • Make more use of your research material by analysing what you see
  • Develop your reflective thinking to help you look at your work and make informed judgements about it

My plan:

  • I will go back through my blog posts to see where I can improve
  • I will add some more critical reflection where I can, this is still hard for me and find it a bit baffling still.
  • I will revisit the exercises and make a new body of work now that I have a new set of printing inks and tools. In the hope that I can improve the outcomes.
  • I am now in contact with a graduate who has studied printmaking who has offered some guidance to improving my printing which should help.

 

About Julie Hooker

Having recently returned to my roots in Surrey, I am currently studying a BA Hons degree with the OCA. My work is often inspired by the local countryside in the beautiful Surrey Hills area and the wild rugged nature of the North Cornish coast. Steam engines and abandoned industrial history are also recent themes. A free machine embroiderer and felt maker; I like to explore the use of natural, found materials to create my art, whether that be as raw materials to stitch or weave with or as a material with which to produce dye or print with. Previously, I completed City and Guilds parts 1 & 2 Creative Embroidery at the East Berkshire College in Windsor in 2007. I was also awarded first place in the wearable art section of the National Quilt Championships 2008 and 2009 held annually at Sandown Park.
This entry was posted in Mixed Media For Textiles, MM part 4. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

