Part 5, Stage 3 – Planning further sample making

I have received an email back from my tutor in answer to my suggested direction for part 5. I had suggested two lines of enquiry:

The first was for a set of experimental vessels / sculptural forms constructed using natural found objects such as bark, leaves and grasses. I had really enjoyed my experiments with leaves that I did for part 2 and wanted to develop that further.
The second was a collection of cocoon / pod like forms using wrapping techniques. Each containing a secret within it. They could be coloured / wrapped in a way that conveys an idea of what is within for example a dark secret could be dark and spiky whereas a secret hope or dream would be lighter and luminous.
I personally preferred the first idea wanted some advice on where to go next. Pros and cons etc. I had listed the things I thought I needed to investigate in the sample stage on the blog.
Rebecca replied with the following suggestions:
She stated that whilst both ideas were interesting the second one was made weaker by the inclusion of messages and meanings. 
She suggested that she didn’t think there is a need to separate my two ideas at this stage and to explore making vessels/cocoons/pods (these are all sculptural) from the materials that I find stimulating and to be open minded in the techniques I use.
She also suggested that I aim to be playful and innovative and using reflections to make decisions on what I think is working well and how to develop my idea further.
Armed with these suggestions and advice I feel that I am on the right track developing samples using natural materials to make structures whether they be pods cocoons or vessels. I am going to try and be led by the materials themselves. I am off for a walk in the woodlands around the school in a short while to see what I can find to use with some of the preserved leaves I now have.
About Julie Hooker

Having recently returned to my roots in Surrey, I am currently studying a BA Hons degree with the OCA. My work is often inspired by the local countryside in the beautiful Surrey Hills area and the wild rugged nature of the North Cornish coast. Steam engines and abandoned industrial history are also recent themes. A free machine embroiderer and felt maker; I like to explore the use of natural, found materials to create my art, whether that be as raw materials to stitch or weave with or as a material with which to produce dye or print with. Previously, I completed City and Guilds parts 1 & 2 Creative Embroidery at the East Berkshire College in Windsor in 2007. I was also awarded first place in the wearable art section of the National Quilt Championships 2008 and 2009 held annually at Sandown Park.
This entry was posted in Mixed Media For Textiles, MM part5. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

