Tutor feedback – Part 5

Overall Comments

Congratulations Julie for completing Mixed Media for Textiles – I hope you can see the progress you have made and appreciate the skills you have developed.  For this assignment you have developed an idea through sample making to create a final piece that visually links strongly to your research material, well done.  However the work remains weak in certain areas namely drawing and analysis.  I have gone into these in more detail below along with some suggestions.  

Feedback on part 5 – A Final Piece

Drawing

Demonstration of technical and Visual Skills, Demonstration of Creativity

I am starting with drawing, as this remains an area of weakness for you.  Looking at your previous feedback I can see I have made several suggestions and given guidance on your drawing.  I suggest you return to these to develop and add quality to the drawings you present for this assignment.  Your drawings of the bark and leaf samples have been done with care – there is a detailed use of line with good observational skill.  However this level is not consistent, the rest of your drawings look rushed lacking consideration and technical skill.  There is also not enough drawing carried out during this assignment but you have used it appropriately to study your samples as a reflective tool.  

The statement above in red has been taken from the assessment criteria document that assessors use to judge the work.  Assessors look for this in your technical work and drawing and mark accordingly.  I therefore suggest you spend some time working at your drawing and including any new work for assessment of this course.  

I find drawing very difficult, I am not a natural drawer and find it hard to express myself in this way. I have tried really hard to raise my standards throughout this course but know I have some way to go. In my last feedback you stated that not all drawing has to be in details and that I should try to use it like taking notes – this is precisely what I was trying to do with the sketches that you call ‘rushed and lacking consideration and technical skill’. I am trying to add more drawing to my work during each section but it does not come naturally to me. I will continue to try to improve on this.

Engagement with textile techniques

Demonstration of technical and Visual Skills, Quality of Outcome, Demonstration of Creativity

There is evidence you have successfully used the course material to take you through the process of developing ideas and coming to some creative conclusions.  There is a nice logical and considered progression to the work and the ideas as they develop using drawing and reflective thinking.  The samples respond well to your previous work, they demonstrate investigation and risk taking – in particular the wrapped bark and leaf structures.  Here I can see a sensitive use of colour and engaging textures.  The shop bought leaf samples are less playful though made with technical skill.  Your learning log demonstrates an organised approach to problem solving and developing the idea as you tested materials and forms.  I would suggest the final pieces could be stronger if you combined the knowledge gained in the earlier samples of using found materials and the use of colour in the work.  As I explained throughout my research, sampling and prototype making I made a conscious decision to work with the un-dyed skeleton leaves as it was the structure that appealed to me above all else. I like the simplicity and purity that the un-dyed leaves represent; I will go back and see if colouring them slightly would be better but I do not want to lose the contrast between the light sheer leaves and the darker seeds within. I may also try the same 3 sided shape with found leaves and wrap them as I did the bark samples to see what happens.

 

Research

Context, reflective thinking, critical thinking, analysis  

For this assignment you have appropriately revisited your previous research material and gathered more for this particular assignment.  The material is relevant to your work and you briefly discuss why the work is important to this project.  I am returning to couple of suggestions I have made in previous feedback that will assist you in making better use of your research material.  Firstly when looking at the work of another practitioner it is important to make your own analysis of it.  What others say including the artist is interesting but to demonstrate your academic thinking it is vital you make your own judgements and valuation of the work.  This will help deepen your understanding the work and your own creative output and therefore assist you in creating meaningful and engaging textiles.  For example you include the work of Hubert Duprat in your research material giving a brief description of it.  I suggest you add your thoughts about the work – what do you think of him using these insects to do the making?  Is there a way you could utilise this method; I have friends who leave out wool for birds to make multi-coloured nests.  What are your thoughts on the materials he used and the jewel like quality of the final pieces?  There are no right or wrong answers but a straightforward investigation into what you think.  Further to this while you are making your work it is important to refer back to your research material, making links and connections particularly to contemporary practitioners.  This demonstrates your understanding of the research material and is ensures your work remains contemporary in nature. I will add this in

 

I suggest you develop your research material using the suggestions and observations above and those made in previous feedback documents.  

 

Learning Log

Context, reflective thinking, critical thinking, analysis  

Your online learning log is well organised with a good number of images that support the written material.  There is nice discussion of your work as it progresses and how your ideas develop.  I do find it a little worrying that in your final reflection you state you ‘hope’ the work has met the assessment criteria.  I suggest you use the information on page 11 of your course material Assessment Criteria and the Course aims and outcomes on page five to judge whether the work you have produced meets the standards expected at degree level.  Write your final reflective commentary in relation to these, as it will help you see where you may need to develop your work further. I only used the word hope as a reflection on how I am feeling at the end of this course, I have found it hard and I have been very out of my comfort zone throughout. I have tried very hard to be more creative and push the boundaries. As predominately a stitcher and felt maker,  I have found that during this course which contains hardly any traditional textile techniques, I have  very difficult to gauge how I am doing. 

 

 

 

About Julie Hooker

Having recently returned to my roots in Surrey, I am currently studying a BA Hons degree with the OCA. My work is often inspired by the local countryside in the beautiful Surrey Hills area and the wild rugged nature of the North Cornish coast. Steam engines and abandoned industrial history are also recent themes. A free machine embroiderer and felt maker; I like to explore the use of natural, found materials to create my art, whether that be as raw materials to stitch or weave with or as a material with which to produce dye or print with. Previously, I completed City and Guilds parts 1 & 2 Creative Embroidery at the East Berkshire College in Windsor in 2007. I was also awarded first place in the wearable art section of the National Quilt Championships 2008 and 2009 held annually at Sandown Park.
This entry was posted in Mixed Media For Textiles, MM part5. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

